The Wildfire waste agreement
Council has approved entering into a trial waste-supply agreement with Wildfire Energy without seeking tenders. The value, term, tonnage and start date are withheld, and the public record does not say whether the waste goes to Wildfire's existing Bulwer Island pilot plant or the commercial one scheduled for 2028.
Last updated 2026-08-23
At about 2:45pm on Thursday 20 August, council closed its chambers to the public. Half an hour later the doors reopened and the Deputy Mayor read a resolution committing the shire to a Waste Supply Agreement with Wildfire Energy Bulwer Island Pty Ltd.
It passed without a word of public debate and without a vote against.
The resolution is public. Almost everything that would let a ratepayer judge it is not.
What council resolved
Item 13.1 came with a single attachment, listed in the agenda as "CONFIDENTIAL Attachment 1 – WWE – WSA NOOSA Aug 2026 DRAFT". The document councillors considered was, on its own label, a draft.
The operative parts:
B. In accordance with Section 235(b) of the Local Government Regulation 2012, approve entering into a Waste Supply Agreement with Wildfire Energy Bulwer Island Pty Ltd for the trial delivery and processing of residual municipal solid waste and post-resource recovery construction and demolition residuals at the Bulwer Island Energy Recovery Facility, without first inviting written quotes or tenders, on the basis that:
- The services proposed to be provided by the Service Supplier under the Agreement are specialised in the waste industry;
- The services proposed to be provided by the Service Supplier under the Agreement are confidential to the Service Supplier; and
- Council is satisfied that, because of the specialised and/or confidential nature of the services, it would be impractical and/or disadvantageous for Council to invite quotes or tenders;
C. Authorise the CEO to negotiate and finalise the Waste Supply Agreement and any associated documents to give effect to that Agreement, for the contract value discussed in the closed session of this meeting. For clarity, any general financial delegations do not limit the exercise of the CEO's power under this paragraph.
Part D asks for a future report on operational outcomes, waste diversion, financial outcomes, and "opportunities associated with any future Energy Recovery Facility initiatives." No date is attached to it.
Six councillors voted for it and none against. Cr Wilson had left the meeting at 1:13pm and was absent. Cr Phillips moved the closure and Cr Lorentson seconded it; Cr Stockwell moved the resolution and Cr Phillips seconded. There is no factional story here — this one was unanimous among those present.
Who Wildfire Energy is
Wildfire Energy is a Brisbane company commercialising a gasification process it developed in Queensland, which turns non-recyclable residual waste into syngas and from there into electricity or liquid fuels.
It is not a fly-by-night operation, and nothing here suggests any impropriety on its part. It is a grant-backed company doing what its funding announcements said it would do. In 2026 the Queensland Government gave it $18.56 million from the Sovereign Industry Development Fund, alongside $3.15 million from ARENA and $2 million from Climate Tech Partners, to build the Bulwer Island Biofuels Hub on the old BP refinery site in Brisbane — a "first of a kind" plant processing up to 30,000 tonnes of residual waste a year and creating up to 65 jobs.
Two facilities matter here. Wildfire already runs a pilot plant on Bulwer Island, which ARENA records as taking municipal solid waste and construction and demolition waste — the same feedstocks named in council's resolution. The commercial plant is the one still to be built: on the government's own announcement, construction begins in late 2026 and operations begin in early 2028.
Three things worth noticing
The resolution does not say which Bulwer Island plant will take the waste
The resolution commits council to trial delivery and processing "at the Bulwer Island Energy Recovery Facility". There are two candidates on that site: the pilot plant Wildfire already operates, and the commercial plant scheduled to begin operating in early 2028. The trial may run at the pilot, at the commercial plant once built, or across both in stages.
The resolution does not say, and nothing on the public record resolves it. A ratepayer therefore cannot tell from the minutes whether council has bought a service deliverable now or signed on as an early feedstock customer for a first-of-a-kind plant still to be built. Those are different commitments, and they carry different risks.
The tender exception is recited, not explained
Section 235 of the Local Government Regulation offers a council several ways past quotes and tenders. Paragraph (a) covers the case where there is only one supplier reasonably available. Paragraph (b) — the one council used — covers the case where, "because of the specialised or confidential nature of the services that are sought, it would be impractical or disadvantageous" to invite quotes or tenders.
Council's resolution tracks paragraph (b) almost word for word. That is the correct way to invoke it, and there is nothing irregular in relying on the "confidential" limb: it is one of the two limbs Parliament wrote.
What the resolution does not do is explain itself. It recites the statutory test and stops. It does not say what makes these services specialised, why competition would be impractical or disadvantageous, or whether any comparable residual-waste trial was considered before council concluded there was no point asking. The test is a conclusion council has to reach on evidence; the public record contains the conclusion and none of the evidence.
The value is withheld and the usual delegation ceiling is overridden
Part C authorises the CEO to finalise the agreement at a value the public does not have, and disapplies the usual limit: "any general financial delegations do not limit the exercise of the CEO's power under this paragraph."
This is not a blank cheque. The CEO is held to the contract value councillors discussed in the closed session; what has been set aside is the lower general delegation that would otherwise cap it. A ceiling still exists. The public simply does not know where it sits.
Councils routinely keep commercial terms confidential while negotiating, and s 254J(3)(g) plainly permits a closed session for it. Less routine is combining a withheld value with an express disapplication of the CEO's standing financial limits. The size of the commitment is known to the parties and to council's decision-makers, and to nobody else.
It is worth noting this happened at the same meeting that adopted the annual review of delegations from council to the CEO — passed en bloc, without debate.
The case for the council
There is a straightforward defence of all of this, and it deserves stating.
Rising landfill levies and finite landfill capacity make alternatives worth investigating. The state waste levy rises every year, council has just committed $6.53 million to expanding landfill cells at Eumundi-Noosa Road, and Budget Review 1 — adopted at the same meeting — carries $11.2 million in new waste borrowings and a $3.4 million increase in waste capital works. Testing an alternative to burying residual waste is prudent.
A trial is a reasonable way to test it. Terms genuinely are confidential mid-negotiation, and publishing a price would weaken council's hand. Part D does promise a public report.
None of that is unreasonable. The difficulty is that every fact needed to judge whether it is reasonable in this case sits inside the confidential attachment.
What is not known
| Contract value | Withheld — closed session |
| Term of the agreement | Not stated publicly |
| Tonnage committed | Not stated publicly |
| Price per tonne | Not stated publicly |
| When delivery begins | Not stated publicly |
| Whether council can exit | Not stated publicly |
| Whether the trial creates any preference for a future long-term supply contract | Not stated publicly |
| Date the Part D report returns | No date set |
That last row matters most. On the same morning a resident petition on Black Mountain road safety was likewise "referred to the Chief Executive Officer to determine appropriate action", with no report-back date. Undated commitments are how items leave the public record.
Where this goes next
Two things may surface without anyone's cooperation, though neither is guaranteed.
The contract register. Section 237 of the Local Government Regulation 2012 requires a council to publish the supplier, the value and the purpose of any contractual arrangement worth $200,000 or more excluding GST, as soon as practicable after entering into it, and to keep those details available for at least twelve months. If the executed agreement crosses that line, the value appears on council's published register. If it is written below the line, nothing requires publication — the aggregating definition of a contractual arrangement in s 223A is expressly confined to part 3 of the chapter, which governs when quotes and tenders are required, not this publication duty.
The Part D report. Undated, and therefore worth asking about — though the resolution does not require it to be public in full, and parts of it may be confidential. A public question at an ordinary meeting gets a minuted answer from a director.
Watch for: whether delivery begins before the Brisbane plant is operational and where the waste goes if it does; the term and whether council can exit; whether the trial confers any option or exclusivity over a future long-term supply agreement; and what it costs — in dollars and in emissions — to truck residual waste from Doonan to Brisbane rather than bury it at Doonan. Council has declared a climate emergency. That arithmetic belongs in the Part D report, and it is exactly the kind of number that never appears unless somebody asks for it in advance.
Sources. The resolution, the reasons for closure, the attachment title and the votes are from council's adopted minutes for the Ordinary Meeting of 20 August 2026 (item 13.1) and the published meeting packet. Budget and landfill figures are from item 12.2 of the same minutes and council's own media release. Funding, capacity and timetable for the Bulwer Island plant are from the Queensland Government's announcement and the company's published material. Nothing in this piece comes from the closed session, and nothing in it alleges wrongdoing by the supplier.
Meetings where this came up
- Ordinary Meeting - 20 August 2026 20 Aug 2026