Noosa Council Watch

An independent, unofficial record of Noosa Shire Council — what council decided, what they closed the doors on, and why it matters. About this site

Money council pays outside bodies outside its grant rounds, from its budgets, reports and minutes.

Tourism Noosa Ltd

Funding from Noosa Council outside its grant rounds, under funding agreement, one-off contribution, from Tourism and Economic Levy; general rates. 29 figures found, 2014-15 to 2026-27. ABN 45 097 924 199.

$14,030,000paid, 7 yrs
$11,560,000approved by resolution, 5 yrs
$14,806,000budgeted, 6 yrs

Each total counts one kind of figure and never adds it to another: a budget and the payment it became are the same money. Years with no figure of that kind are not in its total.

Every figure

YearWhatAmountSource
2014-15 Stated in a council report · funding agreement · Tourism and Economic Levy
Officer report chart of Tourism Noosa audited revenue: "Levy" component for "2015 Actual" = $1,732k ($'000 chart label). This is TN-reported levy revenue from Council as charted by Council officers, not a Council payment ledger. Chart year "2015 Actual" read as TN financial year ending 30 June 2015 (TN reports on July-June years, e.g. "2020 financial year"). Text-extracted bar labels; 2017 value shown as $2,495k in the Dec 2017 version of the chart (see unresolved).
not counted in any total: Tourism Noosa's audited levy revenue as charted by council, not the agreement amount ($1,745,928) stated for the same year
$1,732,000 2019-12-10_2019_12_10_Services_Organisa… lines 1964-1983
council's words

“Total Revenue Growth excluding Interest ($’000) ... $2,511 $2,520 $2,520 / $2,272 / $1,732 ... 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 Actual ... Levy Other Income”

2014-15 Stated in a council report · funding agreement
from de-amalgamation 1 Jan 2014 to 30 Jun 2015
Per annum amount under the SCRC agreement inherited 1 Jan 2014; report (written 2021) says it was replaced by a new 2-year agreement from 1 July 2015 adding $500,000 (see unresolved). FY assignment: agreement ran until 1 July 2015 per same report. Same text in S&O 9 Nov 2021 agenda lines 604-607.
$1,745,928 2021-07-12_2021_07_12_General_Committee… lines 1015-1018
council's words

“At de-amalgamation in 2014, Noosa Council inherited a number of agreements from the Sunshine Coast Regional Council (SCRC), namely:- A funding agreement between Council and Tourism Noosa for funding of $1,745,928 pa to undertake marketing and tourism promotion for the Noosa area;”

2015-16 Stated in a council report · funding agreement · Tourism and Economic Levy
Officer report chart of Tourism Noosa audited revenue: "Levy" component for "2016 Actual" = $2,272k ($'000 chart label). This is TN-reported levy revenue from Council as charted by Council officers, not a Council payment ledger. Chart year "2016 Actual" read as TN financial year ending 30 June 2016 (TN reports on July-June years, e.g. "2020 financial year"). Text-extracted bar labels; 2017 value shown as $2,495k in the Dec 2017 version of the chart (see unresolved).
$2,272,000 2019-12-10_2019_12_10_Services_Organisa… lines 1964-1983
council's words

“Total Revenue Growth excluding Interest ($’000) ... $2,511 $2,520 $2,520 / $2,272 / $1,732 ... 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 Actual ... Levy Other Income”

2016-17 Stated in a council report · funding agreement · Tourism and Economic Levy
Officer report chart of Tourism Noosa audited revenue: "Levy" component for "2017 Actual" = $2,511k ($'000 chart label). This is TN-reported levy revenue from Council as charted by Council officers, not a Council payment ledger. Chart year "2017 Actual" read as TN financial year ending 30 June 2017 (TN reports on July-June years, e.g. "2020 financial year"). Text-extracted bar labels; 2017 value shown as $2,495k in the Dec 2017 version of the chart (see unresolved).
$2,511,000 2019-12-10_2019_12_10_Services_Organisa… lines 1964-1983
council's words

“Total Revenue Growth excluding Interest ($’000) ... $2,511 $2,520 $2,520 / $2,272 / $1,732 ... 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 Actual ... Levy Other Income”

2017-18 Approved by resolution · funding agreement · Tourism and Economic Levy
3 years from 1 Jul 2017 with 2-year option (to 30 Jun 2022)
Ordinary Meeting 17 August 2017
Resolution (OM 17 Aug 2017 minutes lines 259-266) authorised CEO to enter the Funding Agreement "generally in accordance with the terms and conditions set out in the draft Funding Agreement" - the resolution text itself states no amount; figure is from the officer report. Agreement: annual amount no less than prior year; TN to hold $350,000 marketing contingency (TN funds, not a payment). Dec 2017 and Dec 2018 S&O reports: "$2,520,000 of that funding is provided to Tourism Noosa under the current funding agreement".
$2,520,000 2017-08-08_2017_08_08_Services_Organisa… lines 750-767
council's words

“The proposed agreement is for a three-year term with a two-year option... Funding for the first year of this agreement (2017/18) is specified as $2,520,000 which is in accordance with our adopted 2017/18 budget... This funding will come from the Tourism and Economic Levy.”

2017-18 Budgeted · funding agreement · Tourism and Economic Levy
Budget adoption 2017-18
Footnote to Tourism and Economic Levy line in Schedule of Levies and Separate Charges, 2017/18 budget statements.
$2,520,000 2017-06-29_2017_06_29_Special_Meeting_A… line 4187
council's words

“* Note - Tourism Noosa 2017/18 funding under current agreement $2.52 million”

2017-18 Stated in a council report · funding agreement · Tourism and Economic Levy
Officer report chart of Tourism Noosa audited revenue: "Levy" component for "2018 Actual" = $2,520k ($'000 chart label). This is TN-reported levy revenue from Council as charted by Council officers, not a Council payment ledger. Chart year "2018 Actual" read as TN financial year ending 30 June 2018 (TN reports on July-June years, e.g. "2020 financial year"). Text-extracted bar labels; 2017 value shown as $2,495k in the Dec 2017 version of the chart (see unresolved).
$2,520,000 2019-12-10_2019_12_10_Services_Organisa… lines 1964-1983
council's words

“Total Revenue Growth excluding Interest ($’000) ... $2,511 $2,520 $2,520 / $2,272 / $1,732 ... 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 Actual ... Levy Other Income”

2017-18 Stated in a council report · funding agreement · Tourism and Economic Levy
2017-18 to 2021-22 (1 Jul 2017 - 30 Jun 2022)
Total over term (5 years). Same report lines 1103-1104: "The current agreement involved a total payment of $12.6M from Council to Tourism Noosa over the life of that agreement." Do not add to per-year rows.
not counted in any total: five-year total of the 2017 agreement; the per-year rows carry the same money
$12,600,000 2021-07-12_2021_07_12_General_Committee… lines 1068-1069
council's words

“Over the life of the 2017-2022 agreement, $12.6M of funding has been allocated to Tourism Noosa making this one of Council’s most significant financial agreements.”

2018-19 Stated in a council report · funding agreement · Tourism and Economic Levy
Officer report chart of Tourism Noosa audited revenue: "Levy" component for "2019 Actual" = $2,520k ($'000 chart label). This is TN-reported levy revenue from Council as charted by Council officers, not a Council payment ledger. Chart year "2019 Actual" read as TN financial year ending 30 June 2019 (TN reports on July-June years, e.g. "2020 financial year"). Text-extracted bar labels; 2017 value shown as $2,495k in the Dec 2017 version of the chart (see unresolved).
$2,520,000 2019-12-10_2019_12_10_Services_Organisa… lines 1964-1983
council's words

“Total Revenue Growth excluding Interest ($’000) ... $2,511 $2,520 $2,520 / $2,272 / $1,732 ... 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 Actual ... Levy Other Income”

2019-20 Paid · one-off contribution · Tourism and Economic Levy
Council states it "was provided" (report dated 10 Dec 2019). Funding source inferred from the preceding sentence about the levy - treat as levy-context, not explicit.
$100,000 2019-12-10_2019_12_10_Services_Organisa… lines 2229-2231
council's words

“In 2019/20, an additional $100,000 was provided for additional sustainability initiatives.”

2019-20 Budgeted · funding agreement · Tourism and Economic Levy
Budget adoption 2019-20
Footnote to 'Tourism and Economic Levy*' in the Special Rates and Charges Schedule. Council printed '$2.6 million' (rounded).
$2,600,000 Budget_Document_2019-20.pdf pdf p. 10
council's words

“* Note - Tourism Noosa 2019/20 funding under current agreement $2.6 million”

2019-20 Stated in a council report · funding agreement · Tourism and Economic Levy
Base agreement amount as stated during 2019-20 (S&O 10 Dec 2019). Additional $100,000 recorded separately.
$2,520,000 2019-12-10_2019_12_10_Services_Organisa… lines 2229-2231
council's words

“Council collects funds via the Tourism and Economic Levy and $2,520,000 of that funding is provided to Tourism Noosa under the current funding agreement. In 2019/20, an additional $100,000 was provided for additional sustainability initiatives.”

2020-21 Paid · funding agreement · Tourism and Economic Levy
Council states "budgeted for and provided" (report dated 16 June 2021, before year end).
$2,520,000 2021-06-16_2021_06_16_Special_Meeting_A… lines 216-224
council's words

“the Tourism and Economic Levy was reduced by 5% in 2020/21 to reduce the financial impact on local businesses as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic - but that had no impact on the $2.52 million funding budgeted for and provided to Tourism Noosa.”

2020-21 Approved by resolution · funding agreement
1 Jul 2020 - 30 Jun 2022 (2-year option)
Ordinary Meeting 19 December 2019
Exercise of the 2-year option of the 2017 agreement; resolution states no amount (agreement amount $2.52M pa per 2021 reports). Referred from S&O 10 Dec 2019 via General Committee.
not counted in any total: no single figure
not stated 2019-12-19_2019_12_19_Ordinary_Meeting_… lines 552-560
council's words

“Agree to extend the existing Funding Agreement between Tourism Noosa and Council for a further two year period as currently provided for in Clause 2 of the Funding Agreement.”

2020-21 Budgeted · funding agreement · Tourism and Economic Levy
Column headed "2021" in the 2021/22 budget statements (prior-year budget figure), $,000.
$2,520,000 Budget_Document_2021-22.pdf p. 11 (text line 397)
council's words

“Tourism and Economic Development Investment $,000 ... Payment to Tourism Noosa $ 2,520 $ 2,520”

2021-22 Paid · funding agreement · general rates
Monthly Tourism and Economic Development Investment Summary, FY Actual $m (two instalments of $1.26m, Aug 2021 and Feb 2022).
$2,520,000 2022-07-18_2022_07_18_General_Committee… lines 1051-1062
council's words

“Expenditure at 30 June 2022 ... Payment to Tourism Noosa $2.52 $2.52 $2.52 - ... All instalments payable under the Tourism Noosa agreement for the 2021-22 financial year have been made.”

2021-22 Budgeted · funding agreement · general rates
Budget adoption 2021-22
Tourism and Economic Development Investment table, printed in $'000 (2,520); right-hand (budget-year) column. The left column (2,520) is the prior year's current budget and is not recorded here. Funding source from footnote: 'Tourism Noosa funding of $2.52 million and economic development costs to be funded via general rates in 2021/22'.
$2,520,000 Budget_Document_2021-22.pdf pdf p. 12
council's words

“Payment to Tourism Noosa $ 2,520 $ 2,520”

2021-22 Stated in a council report
Project support (Employment Portal, labour-shortage initiative) under the Economic Development business roundtable section. Not stated whether paid or budgeted; FY taken from the 2021-22 annual report. Same text GC 15 Aug 2022 agenda line 3194. No resolution found.
$60,000 Annual_Report_2021-22.pdf pdf p. 51 (text lines 2001-2003)
council's words

“Current initiatives targeting labour shortages in the region supported by Council include: o Adopt a Worker Pilot Program – Noosa Chamber of Commerce $30,000 o Employment Portal – Tourism Noosa $60,000”

2022-23 Paid · funding agreement · general rates
FY Actual in $m (rounded to $0.01m). Also 2023_12_Financial_Performance_Report_-_Jun_2023.pdf.
$2,650,000 2023-07-17_General_Committee_Meeting_Ju… lines 12460-12478
council's words

“Expenditure at 30 June 2023 ... Payment to Tourism Noosa $2.65 $2.65 ... All instalments payable under the Tourism Noosa agreement for the 2022-23 financial year have been made.”

2022-23 Approved by resolution · funding agreement · general rates
12 months from 1 Jul 2022 (to 30 Jun 2023)
Ordinary Meeting 18 November 2021
No amount in resolution; S&O 9 Nov 2021 report line 708-710: funding "currently set at $2.52M pa". Committee: GC 15 Nov 2021 further report.
not counted in any total: no single figure
not stated 2021-11-18_2021_11_18_Ordinary_Meeting_… lines 1117-1123
council's words

“Agree to extend the existing funding agreement between Council and Tourism Noosa for a further term of 12 months on and from 1 July 2022 on the same terms and conditions as contained in the existing funding agreement.”

2022-23 Budgeted · funding agreement
Budget adoption 2022-23
Tourism and Economic Development Investment table, printed in $'000 (2,646); right-hand (budget-year) column. The left column (2,520) is the prior year's current budget and is not recorded here.
$2,646,000 Budget_Document_2022-23.pdf pdf p. 12
council's words

“Payment to Tourism Noosa $ 2,520 $ 2,646”

2023-24 Paid · funding agreement · general rates
$’000 YTD Actual at 30 June 2024. Same table in 2024_12_Financial_Performance_Report_-_Jun_2024.pdf.
$2,520,000 2024-07-15_General_Committee_15_July_2024.pdf pdf p. 60
council's words

“Expenditure at 30 June 2024 ... Tourism Noosa Funding Agreement $2,520 $2,520 - ... All instalments payable under the Tourism Noosa agreement for the 2023-24 financial year have been made.”

2023-24 Approved by resolution · funding agreement · general rates
Funding and Performance Deed: 2 years to 30 Jun 2025 + 2-year option
Ordinary Meeting 20 April 2023
Ex GST, per annum. OM 20 Apr 2023 resolution (minutes lines 440-455) authorised CEO to execute the Deed at Attachment 1 and "Confirm the release of funds as per the report for the 2024 and 2025 Financial Years". Referred S&O 11 Apr 2023 -> GC 17 Apr 2023 -> OM. Report line 2086: "Ongoing financial commitment via the General Rate of $2.52M per annum exclusive of GST". ABN from Deed parties clause (line 2147).
$2,520,000 2023-04-11_Services_Organisation_Commit… lines 2835-2847
council's words

“Schedule 1 ... Funding Amount $2,520,000.00 (excluding GST) The Amount will be paid in instalments, every 6 months during the Term as follows: $1,260,000 excluding GST on or before 31 July 2023 and 2024; and $1,260,000 excluding GST on or before 31 January 2024 and 2025.”

2024-25 Paid · funding agreement · general rates
$’000 YTD Actual at 30 June 2025 (option years of 2023 Deed not taken up; replaced by 12-month deed).
$2,520,000 2025-07-14_General_Committee_14_July_2025.pdf pdf p. 33
council's words

“Expenditure as of 30 June 2025 ... Tourism Noosa Funding Agreement $2,520.0 $2,520.0 - ... All instalments payable under the Tourism Noosa agreement for the 2024-25 financial year have been made.”

2024-25 Approved by resolution · funding agreement · general rates
Funding and Performance Deed: 2 years to 30 Jun 2025 + 2-year option
Ordinary Meeting 20 April 2023
Ex GST, per annum. OM 20 Apr 2023 resolution (minutes lines 440-455) authorised CEO to execute the Deed at Attachment 1 and "Confirm the release of funds as per the report for the 2024 and 2025 Financial Years". Referred S&O 11 Apr 2023 -> GC 17 Apr 2023 -> OM. Report line 2086: "Ongoing financial commitment via the General Rate of $2.52M per annum exclusive of GST". ABN from Deed parties clause (line 2147).
$2,520,000 2023-04-11_Services_Organisation_Commit… lines 2835-2847
council's words

“Schedule 1 ... Funding Amount $2,520,000.00 (excluding GST) The Amount will be paid in instalments, every 6 months during the Term as follows: $1,260,000 excluding GST on or before 31 July 2023 and 2024; and $1,260,000 excluding GST on or before 31 January 2024 and 2025.”

2025-26 Paid · funding agreement · general rates
first instalment only (July 2025)
Partial-year: first milestone payment only. Payment of the $800,000 second instalment not found stated in corpus (tables after Oct 2025 are images).
$1,200,000 2025-08-18_General_Committee_18_August_… pdf p. 40
council's words

“The first instalment payable under the Tourism Noosa agreement for the FY 2025-26 of $1.2 million was made in July 2025”

2025-26 Approved by resolution · funding agreement · general rates
12 months to 30 Jun 2026
Special Meeting 8 May 2025
Ex GST. Carried 5-2 (Wegener, Wilson against). Officer report (2025-05-08_Special_Meeting.pdf p.4): reduction from $2,520,000 to $2,000,000 = removal of event sponsorship etc. ~$250,000 + $270,000 efficiency dividend. Executed 12-month deed noted OM 18 Sep 2025. Special Meeting is a Council meeting (final decision).
$2,000,000 2025-05-08_Special_Meeting_minutes_aoid… lines 245-256
council's words

“B. Approve the release of funds to the amount of $2.0M (exclusive of GST) to Tourism Noosa, for the duration of this agreement (to 30 June 2026), conditional on: 1. A Milestone Payment One of the agreement in the amount of $1.2M (exclusive of GST), to paid on or before 31 July 2025; 2. A second graduated payment of $800,000”

2025-26 Budgeted · funding agreement · general rates
12 months to 30 Jun 2026
Ex GST. Financial report 30 Sep 2025 shows "Current Budget" of 2,152 ($’000) for the Tourism Noosa Funding Agreement line - see unresolved.
$2,000,000 2025-09-18_Ordinary_Meeting_18_Septembe… pdf p. 44
council's words

“In accordance with this new 12 month Agreement, the funding allocation for the 12 month period of $2.0M (exclusive of GST) has been allocated in Council's 25/26 budget.”

2026-27 Approved by resolution · funding agreement · general rates
Funding and Performance Deed 2026-2029: 1 Jul 2026 - 30 Jun 2029
Ordinary Meeting 18 June 2026
Adopted en bloc (item 11.2.17) from GC 9 Jun 2026 recommendation carried on the casting vote of the Chair (3-3). Earlier version NOT adopted: GC 13 Apr 2026 motion lost 3-4 and OM 16 Apr 2026 resolved "Not adopt the proposed Deed in its current form". Paid in 3 instalments ($650,000 by 31 Jul, $350,000 by 30 Sep subject to performance adjustment of up to $350,000, $1,000,000 by 31 Jan). Years 2 and 3 CPI-indexed (amounts not stated - see unresolved). Funding source per GC 13 Apr 2026 report: "existing budget allocations supported by the commercial differential general rate". Deed approval, not a payment.
$2,000,000 2026-06-18_Ordinary_Meeting_18_June_202… lines 787-816
council's words

“C. Approve the revised Tourism Noosa Funding and Performance Deed 2026–2029 with Tourism Noosa Ltd for a term of three (3) years, commencing 1 July 2026 and ending 30 June 2029, for funding of $2,000,000 per annum (ex GST), with CPI indexation applied from the second year of the Term, capped at a maximum of 3.5% per annum”

Every figure is quoted from the council document it links. Where council's own documents disagree, both are shown and neither is counted.

Elsewhere on this site

Every page here that links to this one, by section.